Filing open for 6 Horry County Board of Education seats

Filing to run for several Horry County Board of Education seat opens Wednesday at noon, and some candidates have already announced their campaigns.

Six board seats are up for re-election in November, including the one that was held by the late Kay Loftus. Loftus died Feb. 29, and the board is still discussing how to fill her seat, whether through an election or board appointment.

Candidates can file their intent to run starting March 16 at noon at the Horry County Election Commission office, 1515 Fourth Ave., Conway. Filings are open until March 30.

David Cox, vice chairman and District 9 representative, is not running for re-election. Cox was elected to the board in 2008, and during his campaign he promised to only seek two terms. He’s sticking to that promise.

“Eight years is enough,” Cox said. “I’ve always believed in term limits.”

Jeffrey Garland, District 11 representative, said Tuesday he would seek a second term. District 11 covers Aynor and parts of Conway and Green Sea Floyds.

“We’ve been able to accomplish a lot of great things and I feel like we’re doing a good job,” Garland said. “I enjoy serving the citizens of District 11 and the educating of students.”

John Poston, District 8 representative, announced his run for chairman against current chairman Joe DeFeo. Poston was elected to the board in 2008, and his district covers parts of Socastee and Carolina Forest.

DeFeo, current chairman, said he also plans to run for re-election.

District 5 representative Janice Morreale’s seat is also up for election, and she is filing to run for re-election. District 5 represents the St. James area and parts of Socastee.