Grand Strand Newsmakers

Pictured (L to R): Mark Lewis, Angela Boyd, Nancy Boston
Pictured (L to R): Mark Lewis, Angela Boyd, Nancy Boston



Coastal Carolina University honors Summer Graduates

Coastal Carolina University held commencement ceremonies for an estimated 360 candidates on Aug. 5, 2016, at the HTC Student Recreation and Convocation Center on campus.

Speaker Robert Young congratulated the class for being the 'first CCU students ever to graduate from the number one university in the nation,' referencing the national College World Series baseball title CCU won on June 30. Young is professor of marine science and director of undergraduate research at CCU.

Graduation candidates are:

Jabor Al-Mutawa of Conway, Cynthia Ambrose of Aynor, Michael Ames of Myrtle Beach, James Anderson of Myrtle Beach, Allison Antczak of North Myrtle Beach, John Bacic of North Myrtle Beach, Benjamin Bassett of Myrtle Beach, Mary Ann Batten of Little River, Penny Bell of Loris, Nicholas Blair of Conway, Alexander Blake of Surfside Beach, Bobby Boone of Myrtle Beach, Kaila Bowe of Conway.

Michael Butler of Myrtle Beach, Tyler Chadwick of Conway, Judson Childs of Conway, Kayla Clemons of Myrtle Beach, Brianna Collinson of Myrtle Beach, Jay Cortes of Myrtle Beach, Eric Coselman of Myrtle Beach, Cody Craft of North Myrtle Beach, Taylor Cristaldi of Conway, Michael Decker of Myrtle Beach, Daniel Dobbins of Myrtle Beach, Katelin Donaldson of Myrtle Beach.

Chelsey Dozier of Georgetown, Jessica Durant of Aynor, Samuel Ekwonike of Conway, Patrick Finn of Myrtle Beach, Matthew Fox of Aynor, Matthew Fox of Myrtle Beach, Alecia Franca of Conway, Robert Gray of Myrtle Beach, Katherine Greco of Myrtle Beach, Samuel Griffith of Myrtle Beach, Bianca Guirguis of Murrells Inlet, Safiyyah Hasan of Myrtle Beach, Oxana Hendrix of North Myrtle Beach, Amande Henline of Myrtle Beach, Zachery Hensel of Myrtle Beach.

Eric Hnatko of Myrtle Beach, DaQuawn Holmes of Georgetown, Cheyenne Hooks of Nichols, Meagan Hooks of Nichols, Connor Hoyt of North Myrtle Beach, Katherine Ingersoll of Conway, Cheyenne Jakubek of Myrtle Beach, Allison Jayroe of Pawleys Island, Mark Jekel of Conway, Kerwin Johnson of Conway, Madelyn Johnson of Myrtle Beach, Austin Jones of Myrtle Beach, Christopher Jordan of Galivants Ferry, Malcolm Joseph of Conway, Hans Kaser of Conway, Steven Kaszak of Little River, Chase Keevert of Surfside Beach.

Emily Kim of Pawleys Island, Benjamin King of Conway, Joy Klein of Myrtle Beach, Glenn Klosowski of Myrtle Beach, Donald Kobithen of Myrtle Beach, Pamela Koehler of Myrtle Beach, Victoria Lambert of Conway, Gerald Lane of Surfside Beach, Alexandria Lawrimore of Conway, Priscilla Leslie of Conway, Kyle Lewis of Myrtle Beach, Scott Lewis of Conway, Kimberly Livingston of Conway, Hunter Lowes of Conway, Quadric Mack of Myrtle Beach, Erica Markunas of Myrtle Beach, Elizabeth Marola of Conway, Eglantina Meka of Myrtle Beach, Suzanna Menard of Myrtle Beach, Virginia Messinger of Conway, Linda Nichols of Little River, Corey Niggel of Myrtle Beach, Lindsay Nowicki of Conway, Jeffrey Nuzum of Myrtle Beach, Diana O'Shea of Myrtle Beach, Yuver Pacheco of Little River.

William Panos of Myrtle Beach, Sadie Parker of Pawleys Island, Nikita Patel of Conway, Elena Pires of Myrtle Beach, SC, (29577), Bachelor of Science in Business Administration, Jeffrey Pittelli of Myrtle Beach, Mark Porter of Longs, Anthony Poston of Hemingway, Bradley Poston of Myrtle Beach, Zane Price of Aynor, Benjamin Prince of Longs, Michael Rajacich of Conway, Jack Robinson of Little River, Rebecca Schwartz of Myrtle Beach, Kristen Scolari of Myrtle Beach, Emily Seeley of Conway, Nicholas Seely of Myrtle Beach.


Scholarship formed in MB man’s name

The family of Sean Michael Semper Orcutt of Myrtle Beach has established a scholarship fund in memory of the 21 year old who passed away on June 14, 2016. Sean Michael was a 2013 graduate of Myrtle Beach High School where he played baseball and football and was a member of the 2011 3A State Championship Football Team. He served as defensive captain of the football team in 2012 and 2013. “Sean Michael Orcutt was a great young man to coach,” says Football Coach Mickey Wilson of Myrtle Beach High School. “He was passionate about the game and was a fierce competitor.” “A true teammate to all, Sean Michael left an everlasting stamp on Myrtle Beach High School Football.”

As a way to keep Sean Michael's memory alive and give back to the community he loved so much, a memorial scholarship fund has been established to contribute towards college tuition to Myrtle Beach High School students. The annual scholarships will be awarded to two rising seniors, one girl and one boy, who are active in sports and leadership and who share Sean Michael’s generosity and loving spirit.

If you would like to contribute to Sean Michael Semper Orcutt Scholarship Fund, visit the Go Fund Me Page at or send checks to SMSO Scholarship Fund c/o: Semper Signature Events, 820 Post Oak Drive, Mount Pleasant SC 294644.


Cresswind Book Club welcomes author Susan Boyer

The Cresswind Bookmates Book Club was pleased to have South Carolina author, Susan M. Boyer, join them at their August meeting to discuss her latest book in the Liz Talbot Mystery Series, Lowcountry Book Club.

The Cresswind Bookmates were very excited that Susan was able to join them and showed their appreciation by having a record number of members, 30, in attendance. Susan talked about the book, answered questions and signed copies of her book for the club members. The Cresswind Bookmates live in the Cresswind Active Adult Community in The Market Common area of Myrtle Beach, they meet once a month and discuss a book recommended by one of their members. Discussions are always lively, insightful and interesting. Anyone who lives at Cresswind is welcome to join.


Myrtle Beach Camera Club announces July winners

The topic for the competition was "Black and White"

The camera club meets on the third Tuesday of each month, 7PM, at the HTC building in Carolina Forest. New members are welcome.



Brunswick County literacy council student receives scholarship from Shallotte Rotary Club

Nancy Boston of the Shallotte Rotary Club presented Angela Boyd with a scholarship to attend the CNA program at the Brunswick County Community College. The Brunswick County literacy council asked for the Rotary’s help so that Ms. Boyd could further her education.

The Shallotte Rotary Club meets at Planet Fun on Thursday’s from 12:30 - 1:30 pm. Visitors are always welcome. Please visit our website for more information.


Shallotte Rotary Inducts New Member

At a recent Shallotte Rotary meeting, President Mark Lewis inducted new member Sarah Farmer. Sarah, a Brunswick County native, is the Manager of Accreditation and Regulatory at Brunswick Novant Hospital. The Shallotte Rotary Club is always actively seeking new members interested in serving the community.

The Shallotte Rotary Club meets at Planet Fun on Thursday’s from 12:30 - 1:30 pm. Visitors are always welcome. Please visit our website for more information.