Area students graduate, earn honors

▪ The following local residents earned Dean’s List recognition for the spring 2015 semester as members of The Citadel South Carolina Corps of Cadets: Austin Brown, Jennifer Burch, Charles Holt, Michael Mabry, Andrew Mai, Dustin Smith, Joseph Smolenski, Wilson Wicker and Victoria Zeltner of Myrtle Beach; Grayson Carter and Robert Green of Murrells Inlet; Daniel Caulder and Cody Floyd of Georgetown; Bryce Eaddy of Garden City; Coleman Floyd, George Graham, Dakota Kish, William Mills and Augustus Smith of Conway; Stephen Ikalowych of Oak Island, N.C.; Kyle Jones of Andrews; William Pauley of Longs and Matthew Scalise of Surfside Beach.

▪ Taylor Marie Monahan of Conway, a sophomore majoring in philosophy, made the President’s List at Coastal Carolina University for the spring 2015 semester.

▪ Cody L. Brett of Myrtle Beach will attend SUNY Oswego, N.Y., among more than 640 transfer students who have reserved places at the college for fall 2015. He last studied at Coastal Carolina University and intends to major in sociology at Oswego.

▪ Lloyd Powers of Loris was recognized for outstanding academic achievement and earned Dean’s List recognition for the spring 2015 semester.

▪ Carson Lamb of Pawleys Island and Ryan Van Horn of Conway graduated from Georgia State University College of Law in Atlanta May 15.

▪ Coastal Carolina University’s World Percussion Ensemble recently won the World Percussion Ensemble Showcase Competition sponsored by the Percussive Arts Society, the highest competition in the collegiate percussion band field. Performing as “Calpysamba” for the competition, the 22-student CCU ensemble has also been invited to perform a concert for the society’s International Convention Nov. 11-14 in San Antonio. The ensemble students are: Jacob Abarbanell, Ally Abbs, Cailin Aucoin, Moses Ballard, Justin Brooks, Nathan Culp, Bill Flynn, Antonio Forline, Kyle Hutton, Noelle Mason, Jasmine McCray, Arieal Lesure, Wade McMillan, Tyrice Murray, Anderson Owens, DeAndrae Preston, Micah Ray, Johnny Richeson, Alex Smith, Antonio Sparks, Christian Stevens and Brandon Vaughn.

▪ Air Force Airman Joseph T. Seward graduated from basic military training at Joint Base San Antonio-Lackland, San Antonio.

▪ Christian Cooper of Myrtle Beach was named to the spring 2105 Dean’s List at Belmont University, Nashville, Tenn.

▪ Eight Coastal Carolina University students recently took first and second place honors in several categories at the Future Business Leaders of America-Phi Beta Lambda State Leadership Conference in Charleston. They are: Emily Graham of Hemingway, from the Wall College of Business, who won first place in accounting principles; Madison Crockett of Myrtle Beach, from the Edwards College of Humanities and Fine Arts, who won first place in website design; Tyler Vealey of Myrtle Beach, from the College of Science, who won first place in cyber security; Jonathan Burlinson of Conway, from the Wall College of Business, who won first place in business communication.

▪ Zaria V. Robey of Murrells Inlet was honored as one of the brightest young students in the world at a regional awards ceremony for academically advanced children sponsored by the Johns Hopkins University Center for Talented Youth, Baltimore. Zaria, a participant in the CTY Talent Search, was recognized for her exceptional performance on a rigorous, above-grade-level test given to academically talented second- through eighth-grade students. Zaria, a student at Coastal Montessori Charter School, was one of more than 33,000 students from 60-plus countries who participated in the CTY Talent Search this year by testing between March 2014 and February 2015. Because of the difficulty of the tests, only about 30 percent of students who participated earned an invitation to a CTY Awards ceremony where they are individually honored for their academic performance and potential.

▪ Eight Coastal Carolina University students presented research papers at the Phi Alpha Theta Carolinas Regional Conference at USC Beaufort’s Gateway/Hilton Head campus. Phi Alpha Theta is the national history honor society for undergraduate and graduate students. Students who presented papers included:

- Margaret Carnan of Myrtle Beach, “Prostitution and Reform in Antebellum America,” who won the award for Best Paper in Session.

- Joshua Knutson of Andrews, “Nullification Crisis: the Unionist Fight in SC, 1828-1833,” who won the award for Best Paper in Session.

- Nicholas Barton of Aynor, “Folk and Slave Medicine and Professional Medicine.”

- Evan Messer of Conway, “The Anti-Isolationist Views of Theodor S. Geisel.”

- Brikena Qirici of Myrtle Beach, “Education and Slavery.”

- Michael Jones of Conway, “1960s American-Syrian Relations and the Ba’ath,” who won the award for Best Paper in Session.