Latest News

Horry County resident to lead state DOT Commission

Myrtle Beach resident Daniel H. Isaac Jr. will become the next chairman of the state Department of Transportation Commission.

"I will ascend to the chairmanship in the next 30 to 60 days," Isaac said Tuesday.

He represents all or part of Berkeley, Charleston, Dorchester, Georgetown and Horry counties as the commission's 1st Congressional District delegate.

Isaac will chair the DOT commission meeting Thursday because the current chairman, Marvin Stevenson of Marion County, will be unable to attend, said Pete Poore, DOT communications director.

Stevenson and two other board members are serving day-to-day because their terms have expired but their replacements have not been named. When Stevenson is replaced, Isaac will become chairman, Poore said. Isaac was elected vice chairman on Monday.

Isaac said Tuesday he is concerned that the DOT has an inadequate budget to fully address maintenance and new road construction needs.

The DOT commission is constantly making the General Assembly aware of the department's funding shortfalls, he said. There is an ongoing struggle to balance the state's needs for new roads with maintenance, he said.

Isaac represents a coastal swath that extends from just south of Charleston to the North Carolina line.

The chairman also becomes a member of the South Carolina Infrastructure Bank Board, which governs the DOT and its $1 billion budget.