Myrtle Beach's Doug Shaw being inducted in inaugural S.C. Football Coaches Association Hall of Fame

08/19/2014 11:02 AM

08/19/2014 11:04 AM

Longtime Myrtle Beach football coach Doug Shaw will be honored again.

Shaw, who led the Seahawks to 223 victories and four state titles between 1970-1994, will be a part of the inaugural nine-member class of the South Carolina Football Coaches Association Hall of Fame Class. The coaches, announced Tuesday, will be officially inducted as a ceremony at the Landmark Hotel in Myrtle Beach on Dec. 12 in conjunction with the North-South All-Star Football festivities.

The others include Julius Wistar Babb (Greenwood); Paul Chapman (Chesterfield, Dillon); John McKissick (Summerville); Bob Rankin (Dillon, Berkeley, Johnsonville, Marion); Keith Richardson (Clinton); Thomas L. Smith (Howard); Joseph Peter Turbeville (Winnsboro, Spring Valley, Irmo); and Leo Varner (Woodruff).

Combined, the nine men won a total of 2,733 games and 46 state titles. McKissick is the all-time national leader in coaching victories with 613. He is entering his 63rd year as Summerville’s head coach this season.

As far as Shaw, the popular head coach steered Myrtle Beach to state championships in 1980, 1981, 1983 and 1984. He died in November of 1994 at the age of 52. The following September, the Myrtle Beach City Council approved the named change of Memorial Stadium in his honor.

Sports Videos

Join the Discussion

Myrtle Beach Sun News is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Terms of Service