Horry County Notebook | Recognizing local artists

02/21/2013 6:00 PM

02/21/2013 9:48 PM

The long, tunnel-like hall one walks down when they first enter the county government building now has works of art adorning its walls.

On both sides are two figures made entirely of cut denim. One is named “Mike” and a movie buff might look at the creation and see a young Robert De Niro, circa 1978’s “The Deer Hunter.”

The other is named simply “Mom.”

These denim creations are the work of local artist James Arendt, one of nine whose pieces are on display at the Horry County Government and Justice Center as part of the CREATE! Conway Invitational Art Exhibit.

The exhibition is the first of its kind at the government building and is being used to showcase a diverse selection of Horry County artists. The display, which runs through April 19, is a partnership between CREATE! Conway and the Horry County Government and Justice Center..

In addition to Arendt, the other artists represented are: Lon Calhoun; Jack Cayton; Ruth Cox; Armon Means; Easton Selby; Emily Smith; and Ed and Barb Streeter.

Their works encompass landscape paintings, personal narratives, cultural identity and folklore.

The exhibition is fee and open to the public Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. The government center is at 1301 Second Ave. in Conway.

For more information on CREATE! Conway, call Barbara Streeter at (843) 248-4527.

Absentee voting deadline approaching for chairman race

The last day to vote absentee for the County Council chairman special election is March 11.

Those wanting to vote absentee can go to the Horry County Registration and Elections Office at 1515 Fourth Ave. in Conway.

The primary election is scheduled for March 12, and polls will remain open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

Curbside voting will also be available for any voter because of a physical handicap or aged 65 or older who cannot enter the polling place.

Unofficial results from the election will be posted on the county website at www.horrycounty.org.

The five council chairman candidates are: County Councilman Al Allen; former County Council Chairwoman Liz Gilland; Debbie Harwell, former member of the Myrtle Beach Area Chamber of Commerce board of directors; former County Council member Mark Lazarus; and former council candidate Fonzie Lewis.

These hopefuls are looking to fill the seat vacated by former chairman Tom Rice after he was elected in November to represent the 7th Congressional District in the U.S. Congress.

Editor's Choice Videos

Join the Discussion

Myrtle Beach Sun News is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Terms of Service