Animal Tales | All about Maggie Mae

June 10, 2014 

SUBMITTED PHOTO

  • Submit your pet

    What kind of person are you – dog, cat, pig, iguana? Whatever kind of pet (or pets) you have, tell your neighbors about it. Email a photo and your pet’s tale to neighbors@thesunnews.com. Be sure to put Animal Tales in the subject line.

My name is Maggie Mae and I am 9 years old. I live with my mom and dad in Seaside Village which is near the beach. Dad and I have a special routine every day: First we go to McDonald’s for coffee, so that my friends there can say hello to me. Then dad takes me for a ride up and down Ocean Boulevard so that I can see and bark greetings at any dogs we might pass. After that, if it’s not raining, we go for a 21/2 mile walk. I really look forward to my walk, especially if it’s on the beach, because that’s my favorite.

I think I own the beach and the boulevard and really have a good time. Most days I go in the water and get my feet wet; that feels so good. I have made many friends during my walks so if you are anywhere near the south end you probably know me. Everyone, including all of our vacationers and snowbirds, know me by name and remember me from year to year. I have made friends with people from all over the world and some have even come to our house just to say goodbye to me and take my picture. I just love people and life.

Myrtle Beach Sun News is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service