Horry County Schools taps finalists for Teacher of the Year

vgrooms@thesunnews.comFebruary 24, 2014 

Horry County Schools has chosen five finalists from 10 semifinalists who were in the running for Teacher of the Year, according to Teal Harding, district spokeswoman.

The finalists are Pam Jackson, a math teacher at the Academy for Technology and Academics; Holly Barnes, an English teacher at Conway High School; Lesley Etherson, an art teacher at North Myrtle Beach High School; Beth Cox, a biology teacher at St. James High School; and Kayla Maxwell, a math teacher at Forestbrook Middle School.

The next step for the finalists is a series of classroom observations. The winner will be announced at the annual HCS Teacher of the Year banquet April 29.

Contact VICKI GROOMS at 443-2401 or follow her at Twitter.com/TSN_VickiGrooms.

Myrtle Beach Sun News is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service