Horry County Schools taps 10 semifinalists for Teacher of the Year

vgrooms@thesunnews.comJanuary 24, 2014 


Horry County Schools has named 10 semifinalists in the running for the district’s Teacher of the Year award, according to a news release from the district.

The semifinalists are Pam Jackson, the Academy for Technology and Academics; Holly Barnes, Conway High School; Lesley Etherson, North Myrtle Beach High School; Beth Cox, St. James High School; Kayla Maxwell, Forestbrook Middle School; Lindsey Reynolds, Loris Middle School; Kristen Giraldi, North Myrtle Beach Middle School; Kim Inman, Forestbrook Elementary School; Ryan Gerald, Green Sea Floyds Elementary School; and Jessica Armstrong, Midland Elementary School.

The semifinalists, who were selected from the group of teachers chosen for Teacher of the Year from each school, will be interviewed by a panel and will be asked to give evidence of student achievement. The group then will be narrowed in March to five finalists, who will undergo a series of classroom observations.

The winner will be announced at the Teacher of the Year banquet April 29.

Contact VICKI GROOMS at 443-2401 or follow her at Twitter.com/TSN_VickiGrooms.

Myrtle Beach Sun News is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service